Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

For the duration of my life the only thing I can guarantee will always be there is me. Every single thing outside of myself is governed by the law of impermanence, its continuity can never be predicted. Whilst I too am obviously impermanent, I am a permanent fixture in my own life.

This notion used to absolutely terrify me, the implication being that ultimately I am alone and have nothing or no one to rely on. I couldn’t accept the repeated uprooting of my home, the volatility of my parents relationship, changing schools, the boyfriends that came and went, the friends who disappeared – the transience of everything. Each new vacancy created a black hole. Emotional stability was a fantasy concept beyond my grasp because I depended on unstable external things for my internal balance – each time a prop was removed I came crashing down.

Today I must wholeheartedly accept the proposition that nothing is permanent, and to attain anything like emotional stability I must be guided by universal truths (the principles of the program). As laid out in the Big Book, giving rather than getting needs to be my guiding principle, and monitoring my emotional state should be done in order to optimise my ability to do this, not for its own sake. I frequently forget this though and can obsess about achieving emotional buoyancy, desperate to be free of the full range of human emotion. I want to be at peace ALL THE TIME and if I’m not I can find myself scrabbling around for the reasons why. This can quickly degenerate into an exercise of self-obsession and the erroneous assumption that my feelings are facts and should be used to navigate my life and my decisions. Relying on my emotional temperature however is an inaccurate, volatile gauge. I need to focus my attention on the AA program and helping others, instead of wallowing in self, and do the next right thing regardless of how I feel about it. My experience shows that when I do this, happiness, peace, power and a sense of direction are the inevitable result.

