Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If I believe – erroneously – that defects are stains, things inside me, hard coded by my DNA, I am unlikely to believe that true change is ever possible.

If I understand that defects are simply BAD HABITS, years and years of rehearsed faulty thinking and behaviour , then I am more inclined to believe that new thinking and behaviours can be learned, as habits can be changed.

Behind all my behavioural defects are flaws in: my thinking, underlying values, beliefs, attitudes, ideas, interpretations & speculations. I identify ‘myself’ with these things therefore I am terrified to allow God to remove them. Who would I be without them?!

But thoughts and actions can be changed, with God’s help, over time, with practice, to make room for something less harmful, more beautiful and true.  New pathways can be created and we can choose these diversions over old, harmful, defective pathways. I can truly learn to respond to ‘disagreeable’ people and situations with love, tolerance and kindness instead of hate, rage and criticism.

Examples of defects of thought:

SELFISHNESS – Putting yourself first, unkind thoughts of others, uncaring

  • Contempt
  • Criticising
  • Hatred
  • Indifference
  • Intolerance
  • Judging
  • Mercilessness

SELF-CENTERED THINKING – What I think about myself

  • Arrogance
  • Beating yourself up
  • Defensiveness
  • Guilt
  • Hypersensitivity
  • Lack of self-evaluation
  • Self-centredness
  • Self-consciousness
  • Self-doubt
  • Self-importance
  • Self-justification
  • Self-obsession
  • self-righteousness
  • Self-satisfaction
  • Shame

SELF-SEEKING – Thinking about what you (1) want to get (2) have lost (3) are afraid of not getting (4) are afraid of losing

  • Expectation,
  • Greed/gluttony
  • Impatience
  • Jealousy
  • Obsessing
  • Over-ambition
  • Over-analysing
  • Perfectionism
  • Blame
  • Self-pity/ bitterness

FEAR – specific fears can manifest as:

  • Anxiety,
  • Indecision
  • Inflexibility
  • Mistrust
  • Pessimism
  • Projection
  • Resistance to change
  • Rigidity
  • Suspicion
  • Worry

DISHONESTY

  • Lying
  • Distorting
  • Withholding the truth
  • Believing feelings
  • Black-and white thinking
  • Denial
  • Despair
  • Embellishment
  • Exaggeration
  • Fantasy
  • Generalisation
  • Gullibility
  • Hypocrisy
  • Irrationality
  • Lack of perspective
  • Lack of proportion
  • Negativity
  • Nostalgia
  • Tunnel-vision

(Source of ‘defects of thought’ -http://ow.ly/KWcut – from http://first164.blogspot.co.uk/ )

